7:12 PM EDT, Thu October 30, 2014

March 2014

Mon, Mar 31 vs Chicago Cubs W 1 - 0

Rapid Reaction: Pirates 1, Cubs 0 (10)

April 2014

Wed, Apr 2 vs Chicago Cubs W 4 - 3

Cubs lineup: Bonifacio at 2nd, Olt sits

Thu, Apr 3 vs Chicago Cubs L 2 - 3

Cubs' Junior Lake takes field versus Pirates wearing wrong uniform

Fri, Apr 4 vs St. Louis Cardinals W 12 - 2

Preview: Cardinals vs. Pirates

Sat, Apr 5 vs St. Louis Cardinals L 1 - 6

Game 4: Pirates 12 Cardinals 2

Sun, Apr 6 vs St. Louis Cardinals W 2 - 1

Ron Cook: Tough loss followed by stellar win for Pirates

Tue, Apr 8 @ Chicago Cubs W 7 - 6

Jackson spoils Castro’s 2-HR night in Cubs’ loss

Wed, Apr 9 @ Chicago Cubs L 5 - 7

Rapid Reaction: Cubs 7, Pirates 5

Thu, Apr 10 @ Chicago Cubs W 5 - 4

Alvarez hit go-ahead HR, Pirates hold off Cubs 5-4

Fri, Apr 11 @ Milwaukee Brewers L 2 - 4

Brewers 4, Pirates 2

Sat, Apr 12 @ Milwaukee Brewers L 2 - 3

Brewers 3, Pirates 2

Sun, Apr 13 @ Milwaukee Brewers L 1 - 4

Brewers sweep Bucs with 4-1 victory

Mon, Apr 14 @ Cincinnati Reds W 8 - 7

Pirates at Reds (April 14, 2014)

Tue, Apr 15 @ Cincinnati Reds L 5 - 7

Splitsville

Wed, Apr 16 @ Cincinnati Reds L 0 - 4

Johnny Delivers Pizza–And a Series Win

Thu, Apr 17 vs Milwaukee Brewers W 11 - 2

Pirates 11, Brewers 2

Fri, Apr 18 vs Milwaukee Brewers L 3 - 5

Brewers' Lohse beats Pirates again, 5-3

Sat, Apr 19 vs Milwaukee Brewers L 7 - 8

Braun homers twice, rallies Brewers over Pirates

Sun, Apr 20 vs Milwaukee Brewers L 2 - 3

Brewers' Gomez, Pirates' Snider ejected after brawl

Mon, Apr 21 vs Cincinnati Reds W 6 - 5

Pirates 6, Reds 5

Tue, Apr 22 vs Cincinnati Reds L 1 - 4

Kwaaay-toh …

Wed, Apr 23 vs Cincinnati Reds L 2 - 5

Track meat

Thu, Apr 24 vs Cincinnati Reds L 1 - 2

Ludwhacked

Fri, Apr 25 @ St. Louis Cardinals L 0 - 1

Miller helps Cardinals beat Pirates 1-0

Sat, Apr 26 @ St. Louis Cardinals W 6 - 1

Bullpen picks up Pirates in 6-1 win over Cardinals

Sun, Apr 27 @ St. Louis Cardinals L 0 - 7

Wainwright, Peralta pace Cardinals past Pirates

Tue, Apr 29 @ Baltimore Orioles Postponed

Davis receives PRP injections (with Pearce update) - School of Roch

Wed, Apr 30 @ Baltimore Orioles Postponed

Pirates-Orioles rained out again - School of Roch

May 2014

Thu, May 1 @ Baltimore Orioles L 1 - 5

More notes and quotes before Game 1 - School of Roch

Thu, May 1 @ Baltimore Orioles L 5 - 6

Tillman tosses 49 pitches in first inning - School of Roch

Fri, May 2 vs Toronto Blue Jays W 6 - 5

Blue Jays blow lead in loss to Pirates as Jose Bautista returns to Pittsburgh for first time since trade to Toronto

Sat, May 3 vs Toronto Blue Jays W 8 - 6

Blue Jays' Morrow goes on 15-day DL

Sun, May 4 vs Toronto Blue Jays L 2 - 7

Rasmus hits grand slam, Pirates drop series finale to Jays, 7-2

Mon, May 5 vs San Francisco Giants L 10 - 11

Pirates lose to Giants, 11-10, in 13th inning

Tue, May 6 vs San Francisco Giants W 2 - 1

Pirates win first instant-replay walk-off in history, Giants' winning streak snapped

Wed, May 7 vs San Francisco Giants W 4 - 3

Giants lose replay challenge on home-plate play in bottom of ninth inning

Fri, May 9 vs St. Louis Cardinals W 6 - 4

Walker powers Pirates to 6-4 win over Cardinals

Sat, May 10 vs St. Louis Cardinals W 4 - 3

Alvarez's single lifts Pirates over Cardinals 4-3

Sun, May 11 vs St. Louis Cardinals L 5 - 6

Cardinals hold on to beat Pirates 6-5

Tue, May 13 @ Milwaukee Brewers L 2 - 5

Battered Brewers beat Pirates, Cole 5-2

Wed, May 14 @ Milwaukee Brewers W 4 - 1

Pirates 4, Brewers 1

Thu, May 15 @ Milwaukee Brewers L 3 - 4

Game 39: Pirates 4 Brewers 1

Fri, May 16 @ New York Yankees Postponed

Friday's Yankees-Pirates game at Yankee Stadium rained out; teams will play a doubleheader Sunday

Sat, May 17 @ New York Yankees L 1 - 7

Yankees homer their way to 7-1 win over Pirates

Sun, May 18 @ New York Yankees L 3 - 4

Rapid Reaction: Yankees 4, Pirates 3

Sun, May 18 @ New York Yankees W 5 - 3

Rapid Reaction: Pirates 5, Yankees 3

Tue, May 20 vs Baltimore Orioles L 2 - 9

Davis hits three home runs in 9-2 win - School of Roch

Wed, May 21 vs Baltimore Orioles W 9 - 8

Brach provides needed relief - School of Roch

Thu, May 22 vs Washington Nationals W 3 - 1

Nats' bats go cold in 3-1 loss to Pirates

Fri, May 23 vs Washington Nationals W 4 - 3

Zimmermann, offense struggle in 4-3 loss to Pirates

Sat, May 24 vs Washington Nationals W 3 - 2

Pirates finally get to Strasburg, hand Nationals fourth straight loss, 3-2

Sun, May 25 vs Washington Nationals L 2 - 5

Nationals top Pirates 5-2, end Bucs' four-game winning streak

Mon, May 26 @ New York Mets W 5 - 3

Brandon Cumpton’s audition

Tue, May 27 @ New York Mets L 2 - 4

Rapid Reaction: Mets 4, Pirates 2

Wed, May 28 @ New York Mets L 0 - 5

Gee's absence may be prolonged

Thu, May 29 @ Los Angeles Dodgers W 6 - 3

Mariners should go after Matt Kemp

Fri, May 30 @ Los Angeles Dodgers W 2 - 1

Rapid Reaction: Pirates 2, Dodgers 1

Sat, May 31 @ Los Angeles Dodgers L 2 - 12

Dodgers blast Pirates 12-2

June 2014

Sun, Jun 1 @ Los Angeles Dodgers W 5 - 3

Post-Game 58 Thread: Kings Win

Mon, Jun 2 @ San Diego Padres W 10 - 3

06/02 Padres Preview: Game 58 vs. Pirates

Tue, Jun 3 @ San Diego Padres W 4 - 1

Pirates win third straight, 4-1 over Padres

Wed, Jun 4 @ San Diego Padres L 2 - 3

Padres’ Recall Jace Peterson Leaving Jedd Gyorko’s Status In Question

Fri, Jun 6 vs Milwaukee Brewers W 15 - 5

Ron Cook: Pirates' biggest loss would be an injured Gerrit Cole

Sat, Jun 7 vs Milwaukee Brewers L 3 - 9

Brewers rally for 9-3 victory over Pirates

Sun, Jun 8 vs Milwaukee Brewers L 0 - 1

A big start for Jeff Locke

Mon, Jun 9 vs Chicago Cubs W 6 - 2

Photos: Pirates 6, Cubs 2

Tue, Jun 10 vs Chicago Cubs L 3 - 7

Photos: Cubs 7, Pirates 3

Wed, Jun 11 vs Chicago Cubs W 4 - 2

Rizzo’s HR, two doubles lead Cubs to 7-3 win

Thu, Jun 12 vs Chicago Cubs W 4 - 0

Emilio Bonifacio injured, likely headed to DL

Fri, Jun 13 @ Miami Marlins W 8 - 6

Marlins lineup vs. Pirates (6/13): Furcal 2B Yelich LF Stanton RF McGehee 3B Ozuna CF Baker 1B Hechavarria SS Mathis C Eovaldi P

Sat, Jun 14 @ Miami Marlins W 8 - 6

Marlins can't find stopper among starters as Pirates clinch series

Sun, Jun 15 @ Miami Marlins L 2 - 3

Marlins narrowly avoid sweep, win 3-2 against Pirates on Sunday

Tue, Jun 17 vs Cincinnati Reds L 5 - 6

Reds at Pirates (June 17, 2014)

Wed, Jun 18 vs Cincinnati Reds L 4 - 11

Reds pound Pirates, 11-4, in rain-delayed game

Thu, Jun 19 vs Cincinnati Reds W 4 - 3

Walk-off win: Pirates beat Reds in extra innings on bases loaded walk

Fri, Jun 20 @ Chicago Cubs L 3 - 6

Rapid Reaction: Cubs 6 Pirates 3

Sat, Jun 21 @ Chicago Cubs W 5 - 3

Josh Harrison's 3-RBI night pushes Pirates past Cubs, 5-3

Sun, Jun 22 @ Chicago Cubs W 2 - 1

Pirates slip past Cubs for 2-1 victory

Mon, Jun 23 @ Tampa Bay Rays W 8 - 1

Rays hot streak ends with Pirates rout

Tue, Jun 24 @ Tampa Bay Rays W 6 - 5

Rays: NASCAR driver takes batting practice

Wed, Jun 25 @ Tampa Bay Rays L 1 - 5

The Pirates try for a sweep of the Rays with a ridiculous lineup

Thu, Jun 26 vs New York Mets W 5 - 2

Mets revert to punchless form in loss to surging Pirates

Fri, Jun 27 vs New York Mets W 3 - 2

Rapid Reaction: Pirates 3, Mets 2 (11)

Sat, Jun 28 vs New York Mets L 3 - 5

Rapid Reaction: Mets 5, Pirates 3

Sun, Jun 29 vs New York Mets W 5 - 2

Lagares rusty since return from DL

July 2014

Tue, Jul 1 vs Arizona Diamondbacks W 3 - 2

Pirates Insider: Late heroics lift Pirates over stunned Diamondbacks

Wed, Jul 2 vs Arizona Diamondbacks W 5 - 1

D-Backs fall to Polanco, Pirates

Thu, Jul 3 vs Arizona Diamondbacks L 2 - 10

A Brandon McCarthy-Vance Worley switcheroo? … But do the Pirates need to make a trade?

Fri, Jul 4 vs Philadelphia Phillies W 8 - 2

McCutchen's 4 hits carry Pirates in 8-2 win over Phillies

Sat, Jul 5 vs Philadelphia Phillies W 3 - 2

McCutchen, Mercer lead Pittsburgh Pirates to 8-2 victory over Philadelphia Phillies

Sun, Jul 6 vs Philadelphia Phillies W 6 - 2

Pirates finish sweep as Locke tops Phillies 6-2

Mon, Jul 7 @ St. Louis Cardinals L 0 - 2

Adams' homer gives Cardinals 2-0 win over Pirates

Tue, Jul 8 @ St. Louis Cardinals L 4 - 5

Cardinals vs. Pirates Recap: So Wong, but so right; Cards walk-off Pirates... again!

Wed, Jul 9 @ St. Louis Cardinals L 2 - 5

Lynn wins 10th, Cardinals top Pirates 5-2

Thu, Jul 10 @ St. Louis Cardinals W 9 - 1

Cardinals shooting for sweep vs. Pittsburgh

Fri, Jul 11 @ Cincinnati Reds L 5 - 6

Game 93: Reds 6 Pirates 5

Sat, Jul 12 @ Cincinnati Reds W 6 - 5

Reds 6, Pirates 5: Another big rally, another injury

Sun, Jul 13 @ Cincinnati Reds L 3 - 6

Thanks, Steve Smith

Fri, Jul 18 vs Colorado Rockies W 4 - 2

Series Preview: Pirates at Rockies

Sat, Jul 19 vs Colorado Rockies W 3 - 2

Rockies fall to Pirates in extras at PNC Park; Troy Tulowitzki out with thigh injury

Sun, Jul 20 vs Colorado Rockies W 5 - 3

Jeff Locke looks to lead Pirates to sweep of Rockies

Mon, Jul 21 vs Los Angeles Dodgers L 2 - 5

Ryu, Dodgers end Pirates' home win streak, 5-2

Tue, Jul 22 vs Los Angeles Dodgers W 12 - 7

Rapid Reaction: Pirates 12, Dodgers 7

Wed, Jul 23 vs Los Angeles Dodgers W 6 - 1

Pirates Insider: Liriano finally picks up second win of season

Fri, Jul 25 @ Colorado Rockies L 1 - 8

Brett Anderson dominant as the Rockies beat the Pirates

Sat, Jul 26 @ Colorado Rockies L 1 - 8

Arenado homers, Rockies beat Pirates 8-1

Sun, Jul 27 @ Colorado Rockies W 7 - 5

Do better

Mon, Jul 28 @ San Francisco Giants W 5 - 0

Game 105: Pirates 5 Giants 0

Tue, Jul 29 @ San Francisco Giants W 3 - 1

Bochy stresses there’s no ‘silver bullet,’ roster moves, and Tuesday’s lineups

Wed, Jul 30 @ San Francisco Giants L 5 - 7

SF Giants’ comeback prevents winless homestand

Thu, Jul 31 @ Arizona Diamondbacks L 4 - 7

D-Backs 7, Pirates 4

August 2014

Fri, Aug 1 @ Arizona Diamondbacks W 9 - 4

Game 109: Pirates 9 Diamondbacks 4

Sat, Aug 2 @ Arizona Diamondbacks W 8 - 3

Delgado, Gibson ejected as Diamondbacks fall

Sun, Aug 3 @ Arizona Diamondbacks L 2 - 3

McCutchen plunked: Was it retaliation?

Tue, Aug 5 vs Miami Marlins L 3 - 6

Pirates activate Marte from concussion DL

Wed, Aug 6 vs Miami Marlins W 7 - 3

Harrison, Locke lead Pirates past Marlins, 7-3

Thu, Aug 7 vs Miami Marlins W 7 - 2

Scary injury in Miami Marlins’ loss to Pittsburgh Pirates

Fri, Aug 8 vs San Diego Padres W 2 - 1

Worley gem leads Pirates over Padres, 2-1

Sat, Aug 9 vs San Diego Padres L 1 - 2

SD1, PIT2: Kennedy Feels No Love

Sun, Aug 10 vs San Diego Padres L 2 - 8

Padres Minor League Roundup For August 9th

Mon, Aug 11 vs Detroit Tigers W 11 - 6

Detroit Tigers promote three relief pitchers; Casey Crosby released to make room on 40-man roster

Tue, Aug 12 vs Detroit Tigers W 4 - 2

Pirates 4, Tigers 2: Robbie Ray takes loss, bats silent as Detroit losing streak reaches four games

Wed, Aug 13 @ Detroit Tigers L 4 - 8

Tigers 8, Pirates 4: Detroit snaps four-game losing streak as bats finally wake up against Pittsburgh

Thu, Aug 14 @ Detroit Tigers L 2 - 5

Tigers 5, Pirates 2: Max Scherzer fans season-high 14, Detroit gets revenge against Pittsburgh

Fri, Aug 15 @ Washington Nationals L 4 - 5

Instant analysis: Nats 5, Pirates 4

Sat, Aug 16 @ Washington Nationals L 3 - 4

Nats Journal: Nationals-Pirates discussion thread: Game 121

Sun, Aug 17 @ Washington Nationals L 5 - 6

Nats Journal: Nationals-Pirates discussion thread: Game 122

Mon, Aug 18 vs Atlanta Braves L 3 - 7

Pirates Insider: Braves blast by Pirates early

Tue, Aug 19 vs Atlanta Braves L 3 - 11

Game 126: Braves 11 Pirates 3

Wed, Aug 20 vs Atlanta Braves W 3 - 2

Cole's solid return leads Pirates over Braves

Fri, Aug 22 @ Milwaukee Brewers W 8 - 3

Video: Haudricourt on the Brewers-Pirates, Lucroy as MVP, Fiers

Sat, Aug 23 @ Milwaukee Brewers W 10 - 2

Alvarez's two homers help boost Pirates over Brewers 10-2

Sun, Aug 24 @ Milwaukee Brewers L 3 - 4

Brewers 4, Pirates 3

Mon, Aug 25 vs St. Louis Cardinals L 2 - 3

Cardinals at Pirates Recap: Cards' three-run seventh inning enough for the win

Tue, Aug 26 vs St. Louis Cardinals W 5 - 2

Ike Davis' three-run homer helps lift Pirates to 5-2 win over Cardinals

Wed, Aug 27 vs St. Louis Cardinals W 3 - 1

Cardinals vs. Pirates recap: ¿En serio, Matheny? in 5-2 late loss

Fri, Aug 29 vs Cincinnati Reds W 2 - 1

Game 133: Pirates 2 Reds 1

Sat, Aug 30 vs Cincinnati Reds W 3 - 2

Reds at Pirates (August 30, 2014)

Sun, Aug 31 vs Cincinnati Reds L 2 - 3

[recap]

September 2014

Mon, Sep 1 @ St. Louis Cardinals L 4 - 5

Cardinals rally for win over Pirates, take over first

Tue, Sep 2 @ St. Louis Cardinals L 4 - 6

Wainwright wins 16th, Cardinals beat Pirates

Wed, Sep 3 @ St. Louis Cardinals L 0 - 1

Cardinals vs Pirates Recap: Waino allows three homers, drives in three runs, as Cards win 6-4

Fri, Sep 5 @ Chicago Cubs W 5 - 3

Cubs' Wada leaves game with injury

Sat, Sep 6 @ Chicago Cubs W 5 - 0

Pirates win yesterday’s game, go for a semi-sweep in Wrigley

Sun, Sep 7 @ Chicago Cubs W 10 - 4

Rapid Reaction: Pirates 10, Cubs 4

Mon, Sep 8 @ Philadelphia Phillies W 6 - 4

Pirates still in wild-card hunt; Locke strikes out 9 in 6-4 win over Phillies

Tue, Sep 9 @ Philadelphia Phillies L 3 - 4

Franco, Galvis lead Phillies past Pirates 4-3

Wed, Sep 10 @ Philadelphia Phillies W 6 - 3

McCutchen hits inside-the-park HR, Bucs top Phils

Thu, Sep 11 @ Philadelphia Phillies W 4 - 1

Liriano fans 12 in Pirates' 4-1 win over Phillies

Fri, Sep 12 vs Chicago Cubs W 7 - 3

Cole, Walker lead Bucs past Cubs

Sat, Sep 13 vs Chicago Cubs L 4 - 6

A trying trial by fire for Cubs’ kids as losing streak hits seven

Sun, Sep 14 vs Chicago Cubs W 7 - 3

Cubs allow triple play, fall to Pirates 7-3

Tue, Sep 16 vs Boston Red Sox W 4 - 0

Red Sox 0, Pirates 4: Same old Anthony Ranaudo story

Wed, Sep 17 vs Boston Red Sox W 9 - 1

Castillo will bat seventh in debut

Thu, Sep 18 vs Boston Red Sox W 3 - 2

Why you should have cared about Thursday’s Red Sox game: It edged them to a better draft pick

Fri, Sep 19 vs Milwaukee Brewers W 4 - 2

Reaction: Mets 5, Braves 0; still eliminated

Sat, Sep 20 vs Milwaukee Brewers L 0 - 1

Finish them

Sun, Sep 21 vs Milwaukee Brewers W 1 - 0

Pirates Insider: Bucs fall to Brewers

Mon, Sep 22 @ Atlanta Braves W 1 - 0

Mets move into second-place tie

Tue, Sep 23 @ Atlanta Braves W 3 - 2

Pirates clinch playoff spot, beat Braves 3-2

Wed, Sep 24 @ Atlanta Braves L 2 - 6

Pirates stumble in NL Central race, Braves win 6-2

Thu, Sep 25 @ Atlanta Braves W 10 - 1

Pirates rip Braves 10-1, cut Cards' lead to 1 game

Fri, Sep 26 @ Cincinnati Reds W 3 - 1

Pirates stay hot with 3-1 win over Reds

Sat, Sep 27 @ Cincinnati Reds L 6 - 10

It turns out the Pirates have an afternoon game today (and it’s not going well)

Sun, Sep 28 @ Cincinnati Reds L 1 - 4

Baseball Capsules

October 2014

Wed, Oct 1 vs San Francisco Giants L 0 - 8

SF Giants rout Pirates in wild-card game; Crawford, Bumgarner star